Association for Glycogen Storage Disease

Association for
Glycogen Storage Disease

"Spreading our rays to shine for a brighter future"

AGSD Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board of the AGSD is a group of medical professionals representing physicians and nutritionists who care for patients having Glycogen Storage Diseases, and scientists actively engaged in research pertaining to the genetics or the metabolic disruptions associated with Glycogen Storage Diseases. These professionals have graciously volunteered to share their expertise and knowledge of the Glycogen Storage Diseases with the AGSD.

The current members of the Scientific Advisory Board are:

Jose E. Abdenur, MD
Chief, Division of Metabolic Disorders
Pediatric Subspecialty Faculty
Director, CHOC Metabolic Laboratory
Children's Hospital of Orange County
Orange, CA
jabdenur @

Pamela H. Arn, MD
Chief, Division of Genetics
Department of Pediatrics
Nemours Children's Clinic
Jacksonville, FL
parn @

Stephanie L. Austin, MS, MA
Certified Genetic Counselor
Division of Medical Genetics
Department of Pediatrics
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
stephanie.austin @

Bert E. Bachrach, MD Co-Chairman of Scientific Advisory Board
Vice Chief of Staff, University of Missouri Hospitals and Clinics
Medical Director, Adolescent and Specialty Clinics
Chief of Pediatric Endocrinology/Diabetes
University of Missouri Children’s Hospital
Columbia, MO
bachrachb @

Deeksha S. Bali, PhD
Director, Glycogen Storage Disease Laboratory
Biochemical Genetics Laboratory
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
deeksha.bali @

Wendy K. Chung, MD, PhD
Herbert Irving Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Director of Clinical Genetics
Columbia University
New York, NY
wkc15 @

Salvatore DiMauro, MD
Lucy G. Moses Professor of Neurology
The Neurological Institute of New York
Department of Neurology
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, NY
sd12 @

Areeg El-Gharbawy, MD, DSc,
Medical Genetics, Department of Pediatrics
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
areeg.elgharbawy @

Ronald G. Haller, MD
Professor of Neurology and Internal Medicine
Mary Quincy Parsons and Kelsey Louise Wright Professor
 in Mitochondrial Disease Research
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Director, Neuromuscular Center
Institute for Exercise and Environmental Medicine
Dallas, TX
Ronald.Haller @

Stephen G. Kahler, MD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Division of Clinical Genetics
University of Arkansas College of Medicine
Arkansas Children‘s Hospital
Little Rock, Arkansas
KahlerStepheng @

Priya S. Kishnani, MD, Co-Chairman of Scientific Advisory Board
C.L. and Sue Chen Professor of Pediatrics
Division Chief, Medical Genetics
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
priya.kishnani @

Teresa M. Lee, MD
Division of Pediatric Cardiology
Department of Pediatrics
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, NY
tl2164 @

Rani H. Singh, PhD, RD
Associate Professor of Human Genetics and Pediatrics
Director, Division of Medical Genetics, Nutrition Section
Department of Human Genetics
Emory University School of Medicine
Decatur, GA
rsingh @; rsingh @

Laurie Tsilianidis, MD
Center for Pediatric Endocrinology
Glycogen Storage Disease Program
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland, OH